Our Values

The ADVENS GROUP, close to the populations and the land

In all the countries where it is present, the ADVENS Group have chosen to lead its actions in a win-win partnership state of mind.

Its therefore one of the precursors that stimulate the development of a fair and sustainable trade.

DIALOGUE

The closest related to people, the Group promotes solidarity dialogue. In the spirit of fairness, respect and sharing with the governments and their populations; especially the rural world, the Group contributes to the development of the agro-industrial sector.

The ADVENS Group defines its vocation, at a long term vision, in helping farmers and agro-industries to sustain, modernize and viable their activities.

INNOVATION

The modernization of agronomic and technologic know how is a core concern for sustainable development for the ADVENS Group.

The improvement of the methods acquired for decades meets to the critical needs of partners: optimize their production and process their products while easing demands on resources, preserving the environment.

So, from an agronomic point of view, new cultivation methods had risen and led to improved yields.

These innovations are the foundation of the basis of flexible agronomic practices, adapted to each area, considering its own resources, soil type and fertility, water intake, …

It is also about improving the industrial production and transformation processes to meet nowadays environmental concerns, without glossing over the economic challenges. The Group possesses acknowledged know how in energy self-sufficiency of its industrial sites, and water treatment.

Our Commitments

To go further, the ADVENS Group relies on 3 actions

DEVELOP

The ADVENS Group has an agro-industrial expertise and masters a technology in constant adaptation given the issues that our partners are facing.

The development of this industrial fabric creates a key growth pole. It guarantees to the different players involved, the sustainability of their activities, enabling them to evolve in a global economy.

Keeping industrial activities in rural zones allows the acceleration of the economic growth and so, reducing poverty.

SUPPORT

For instance, the ADVENS Group participates, directly or indirectly, to the fund’s income of million of farmers and their families in Sub Saharan Africa.

Supporting and advising its partners, the Group accompany them in defining their strategies and expressing their needs. It helps populations to access to training and knowledges, in order to enable them to sustainably develop the local economy.

PRESERVE

The protection of the environment’s resources and cultures is a global issue. Also, the ADVENS Group takes part in it by practicing a more qualitative and respectful industry.

Preserving cultural values also involves the maintenance of social resources. Thanks to its agro-industrial activities, the Group provides a significant portion of the cash income and food security of local populations. It also supports local projects: for instance, producers and local authorities were able to finance the construction or renovation of roads; dispensaries and schools.

This is to contribute to social stabilization by developing a rural economy making it possible to fix the populations.

Win win partnerships

Over the years, the ADVENS Group has set up partnerships with:

States

Involved economic
interests

Farmers Organizations
Stakeholders from the farming sector
At this day, the Group activities participate to million farmers and their family’s income

International
Groups

Providing their expertise and funding.

More specifically with GEOCOTON:

Major player in the cotton sector in Africa, GEOCOTON always had as a rule to integrate its action in cooperation with public authorities, in strict compliance with the institutional framework chosen by each State.
This partnership has evolved in line with the evolution of societal choices of the populations in which it intervenes, by gradually integrating the actors of civil society.

Today, GEOCOTON aims to develop its activities to an extend agro-industrial sector favoring partnership with local actors such as :

  • Producers, through their professional associations. These are not only our first technical partners but are also brought to become shareholders of companies that concern them. As it is the case, for instance, in Burkina Faso. Furthermore, GEOCOTON provides the initial funding for agricultural inputs, allowing the growth of crops. This act benefits both sides.
  • The others actors of the sector, and especially private sector representatives (investors and/ or industry’s professionals) and/or institutional and /or collaborators that GEOCOTON can propose participations.

Its important to emphasize here the extreme importance, with this partnership aim in mind, that GEOCOTON gives to the fulfilment of its financial commitments. A priority attention is paid, for both ethical motives and the socio-economic realities, to the prompt settlement of what is owed to cotton producers.

There has never been any unpaid cotton seed in the cotton companies of which GEOCOTON is partner. Moreover, those late years a strong action was taken to ensure that the regulation of cotton producers is done quickly, despite the unfavorable economic conditions (price of cotton fiber notably).

Nos Valeurs

Le Groupe Advens,
proche des populations et de la terre

Dans tous les pays où il est implanté, le Groupe ADVENS a choisi de mener ses actions dans un esprit de partenariat gagnant-gagnant.
Il fait ainsi parti des précurseurs qui favorisent le développement d’un commerce équitable et durable.

L'échange

Le Groupe favorise les échanges solidaires au plus proche de l’humain. L’esprit d’équité, de respect et de partage avec les gouvernements et les populations, en particulier le monde paysan, contribue à l’essor de l’activité agro-industrielle.

 

Sa vocation consiste, dans la durée, à aider les agriculteurs et les agro-industries à pérenniser, moderniser et viabiliser leurs activités.

L'Innovation

La modernisation des savoir-faire agronomiques et technologiques est au centre des préoccupations de développement durable du Groupe ADVENS. L’amélioration des méthodes acquises depuis des décennies permet de répondre aux besoins cruciaux des partenaires : optimiser leurs productions et transformer leurs produits en ménageant les ressources tout en préservant l’environnement.

 

Ainsi, d’un point de vue agronomique, de nouvelles méthodes de cultures ont vu le jour au sein du groupe et ont permis une amélioration des rendements. Ces innovations constituent le socle de pratiques agronomiques souples, adaptées à chaque région et à ses ressources propres, type et fertilité des sols, apports en eau, …

 

Il s’agit également d’améliorer les processus industriels de production et de transformation pour répondre aux préoccupations écologiques actuelles, sans occulter les enjeux économiques. Le groupe dispose aujourd’hui d’un savoir-faire reconnu en autonomie énergétique de ses sites industriels, ou encore en retraitement des eaux.

Nos engagements

Pour aller plus loin,
le Groupe s’appuie sur trois actions

Développer

Le Groupe Advens dispose d’une expertise agro-industrielle et maîtrise une technologie en perpétuelle adaptation face aux problématiques que rencontrent ses partenaires.

 

Le développement de ce tissu industriel constitue un véritable pôle de croissance. Il assure aux différents acteurs la pérennité de leurs activités, leur permettant d’évoluer dans une économie mondialisée.

 

Le maintien d’activités industrielles en zone rurale permet l’accélération de la croissance économique et, par conséquent, la réduction de la pauvreté.

Accompagner

A titre d’exemple, le Groupe Advens participe, directement ou indirectement, aux revenus de millions d’agriculteurs et de leurs familles en Afrique subsaharienne.

 

Soutien et conseil de ses partenaires, il les accompagne dans la définition de leurs stratégies et l’expression de leurs besoins. Il aide les populations à accéder à la formation et aux savoirs, pour leur permettre de développer durablement l’économie locale.

Sauvegarder

La protection des ressources de l’environnement et des cultures est une problématique mondiale. Aussi, le Groupe Advens y participe en pratiquant une industrie plus qualitative et respectueuse des normes.

 

La préservation des valeurs culturelles passe également par le maintien des ressources sociales. Grâce à ses activités agro-industrielles, le Groupe Advens assure une partie importante des revenus monétaires et de la sécurité alimentaire des populations rurales. Il apporte aussi son soutien aux projets locaux : à titre d’exemple, les producteurs et les instances locales ont pu financer la construction ou la réfection de routes, et la création de dispensaires ou encore d’écoles.

 

Il s’agit ainsi de contribuer à la stabilisation sociale, en développant une économie rurale permettant de fixer les populations.

Des partenariats gagnant-gagnant

Au fil des années, Advens a mis en place des partenariats avec :

Les états

les intérêts
économiques concernés

Organisations paysannes, acteurs privés liés au secteur agricole… A ce jour, les activités du groupe concourent aux revenus directement et indirectement de millions d’agriculteurs et de leurs familles.

des groupes
internationaux

Apportent leur expertise ainsi que des financements.

Et plus spécifiquement avec GEOCOTON :

Acteur majeur du secteur cotonnier en Afrique, GEOCOTON a toujours eu pour règle d’intégrer son action en coopération avec les pouvoirs publics, dans le respect strict du cadre institutionnel choisi par les États. Ce partenariat a évolué parallèlement à l’évolution des choix de société des populations au sein desquelles elle intervient, en intégrant de façon progressive les acteurs de la société civile.

Aujourd’hui, GEOCOTON ambitionne de développer ses interventions sur un secteur agro-industriel élargi dans une approche qui privilégie le partenariat avec les acteurs locaux, notamment :

– Les producteurs, via leurs organisations professionnelles. Ceux-ci sont non seulement nos premiers partenaires techniques, mais sont aussi amenés à devenir des actionnaires des sociétés qui les concernent comme c’est le cas, par exemple, au Burkina-Faso. En outre, GEOCOTON préfinance l’achat des intrants agricoles permettant l’accroissement des récoltes. Un geste qui profite aux deux parties.

– Les autres acteurs de la filière, et particulièrement des représentants du secteur privé (investisseurs et/ou professionnels du secteur) et/ou des institutionnels et/ou le personnel de l’entreprise, auxquels GEOCOTON peut proposer des participations.

Il convient de souligner ici l’extrême importance que, dans cette optique de partenariat, GEOCOTON porte à l’exécution de ses engagements financiers. Une attention prioritaire est attachée, tant pour des motifs éthiques que du fait de la prise en compte de réalités socio-économiques, au règlement sans délai de ce qui est dû aux producteurs de coton.

Il n’y a jamais eu de coton graine non payé dans les sociétés cotonnières desquelles GEOCOTON est partenaire. De plus, ces dernières années, une action dynamique a été menée pour que le règlement des producteurs de coton se fasse rapidement, malgré une conjoncture économique (cours de la fibre, notamment) défavorable.